Taurus Millennium Pro

June 25, 2008


Taurus Millennium Pro 9MM

   This Taurus is an excellent example of a very useful pocket pistol. It has undergone some changes namely the pistol is slightly larger than it’s predecessor as well as having a double stack magazine as opposed to a single stack. I like this version better since the magazine holds 12+1 rounds of 9mm and has a grip profile that accommodates a full grip without your little finger hanging underneath the magazine. The previous version has been discontinued in favor of this model. The calibers available are 9mm, 40 S&W and 45 acp. Since this is a small pistol I decided on the 9mm for the benefit of less recoil and faster follow up shots as well as the number of rounds it holds.
   Another version of this pistol has a rail for attaching lights etc however on a pocket pistol I prefer a smooth underside so that it doesn’t snag when drawing from a holster on the belt or from an inside the front pocket holster. The grip itself is pure Taurus with the standard lateral cuts on the grip front and back to provide the user with a very secure no slip grip.


This photo will give you an idea of the small size of this pistol

   The PT111 comes standard with Heinie “Straight Eight” sights which have one dot over the other for fast sight alignment. The pistol weighs 20oz which puts it in a category of lighter pistols for deep concealment. It is certainly smaller than the Glock 19. The trigger pull is approx. 3.5 pounds which doesn’t bother me since it has the manual safety. If you look at the above picture you will see the rear most control under the slide as the manual safety which operates the same as the 1911 and is very easy to manipulate(the red dot on the slide indicates the safety is off). The next control forward is the slide release with the final control being the takedown lever which rotates then pulls out allowing you to remove the slide. Another handy feature is the indentation on the frame allowing you to index your thumb when firing. The right side has the same indentation for placing your trigger finger in when not resting on the trigger. Takedown is simple. As mentioned before the forward lever is rotated then removed with the slide back and locked. Then pull the trigger all the way to the rear and the slide comes right off. One reason for the light recoil for this small gun is it has dual recoil springs on the full length guide rod. Another reason is your hand rides high on the grip bringing your hand closer to the bore axis. This gives more of a straight push back instead of the flip experienced on pistols with single spring recoil systems and a lower grip. The trigger is smooth and well rounded making it very comfortable with good feel. The barrel is 3.2 inches in length. Another advantage is the double strike capability. Should you have a misfire you simply pull the trigger again to fire the round. As far as I know this is the only pistol of this type that has this feature.


In this picture the safety is on

   I’ve tried carrying this pistol in my front pocket and found that it does not print at all and is comfortable carrying in this way. Don Hume also makes a holster for front pocket carry that has a small hook on the holster to keep it from being pulled out with the gun when drawing. The Don Hume holster is only $32 at Gunners Alley.


Note the hook at the rear of the holster

  

The small circle is the key lock safety system. Note also the large extractor common on Taurus pistols
The extractor also serves as a loaded round indicator.

   Shooting the PT111. I fired a total of 200 rounds of assorted 9mm in standard loads as well as +P and had no malfunctions of any type. As I said before the recoil is surprisingly light for a gun of this size and weight. I fired from the 10 yard line as well as at 15 yards. This is really about the maximum distance for a defensive pistol of this type. At ten yards firing slowly I had groups of 2 inches at first until I got used to the trigger. After 100 or so rounds I got the groups at 10 yards to between 1 1/2 inches to just under 2 inches. At 15 yards groups were what you would expect from a defensive pistol of this size ranging from 2 to 2 1/2 inches firing a bit faster. After first using these sights on the Taurus 1911 I’ve come to really like them and the smaller size sights on this pistol work just as well.


Heinie Straight Eight sights

   To sum things up this is a nice summer carry pistol with very good features and well thought out design. Accuracy is good for a small pistol with such a short sight radius. At just under $300 you would be hard pressed to find another pistol of this quality at such a low price. The more I shoot this little jewel the more I enjoy it. I can recommend this pistol without reservation to anyone looking for a well made pocket pistol. Whether you carry it on the belt in a pocket or a purse this Taurus is a fine choice that packs a lot of firepower into a small package using an effective defensive round!

  

Blogged with the Flock Browser

Tags: , ,

54 Responses to “Taurus Millennium Pro”

  1. VINNY Says:

    I HAVE A P745C .45cal.,6+1 VERSION OF THIS LINE OF PISTOLS. TO SUM IT UP, WOW WHAT A PISTOL! VERY COMPACT FOR A BIG BORE AND WORTH EVERY PENNY. I CARRY THIS ONE WITH GREAT TRUST THAT WHEN YOU KNOW WHAT HITS THE FAN THERE WILL BE NO DOUBT WHEN IT IS CALLED UPON. AS FOR THE 6+1 CAP.
    BEING ON THE MINIMAL SIDE, RANGE TIME AND MORE RANGE TIME!

  2. Gunner Says:

    Vinny,

    I sure trust mine as well. It’s become a favorite during the summer months. Hey 7 rounds is really plenty as like you say practice and more practice. Most people who have been there and seen the bear know that if 7 rounds isn’t enough you are in trouble!

    Thanks!
    Phil

  3. edmund Says:

    Thank you for the review. I ordered the Don Hume inside the pocket holster for my PT140 Millennium Pro.

    Like you, I’m impressed with this weapon, which I intend to use for my primary ccw, supplanting my Taurus 85 snubbie.

  4. Gunner Says:

    Edmund,

    It’s certainly a good buy as well. The Don Hume is also a good choice for a CCW holster. Glad you enjoyed the review!

    Thanks,
    Phil

  5. Hate Taurus Says:

    This is the worst gun anyone can buy. I wish I would have bought a HK, Kahr, or a Springfield XD. This is the first and las Gun I will buy from this company. The fire pin spring is to light, the gun has problem ejecting shells, and the recoil spring is not strong enough. There is a timming issue with the recoil spring, I keep getting drag a mark on the shell from the firing pin.

    Do Not Buy. This gun is junk.

  6. Hate Taurus Says:

    I forgot to mention that the ejector is about to break. I took the gun back to the dealer and they sent it back to Taurus for repair. when I get it back I’m getting rid of the gun. For a CCW gun I would strongly suggest buying a gun that is reliable.

  7. Gunner Says:

    I have to disagree with you on this one. I’ve had zero problems with mine. No malfunctions of any type. Accuracy is on a par with most service type polymer guns of this barrel length.
    It’s not an H&K by any means but it is worth the money and fills a nitch for those who don’t want to or can’t pay the premium price of an H&K.
    I would take advantage of the factory warranty if you are having problems with yours.

  8. Gunner Says:

    Honestly that is the first time I’ve heard of anyone having a problem with this pistol. Maybe it deserves a second chance when you get it back:-)

  9. Hate Taurus Says:

    I have researched other blogs on the internet and have found other owners of this firearm that had or they are having the same problem as I have. I do not want to carry a gun that is not reliable if my life was on the line. If someone pulled a gun on me and if I was quicker on the draw that the other person and my gun did not fire then who would be the one that gets a bullet in the head. If you are going to carry a gun for protection then that gun should be reliable and so far this one is not. I will find the other blogs of people that have had a problem with there Taurus and I will post the links on here.

  10. Hate Taurus Says:

    Gunner,

    I called Taurus today and talked to a customer service rep. and he told me that they are aware of the problems with the fire pin hits light on the millenium models. They are also known for firing pin draging on the primer when the shell ejects. And I asked him if they are aware of the recoil spring not being strong enough to stop the pin from draging and he said that since it does not drag everytime the gun is fired that they are not going to change the design on the Millenium series. So I guess this is the only and the last Taurus I will ever buy.

  11. More Taurus Complaints? Says:

    Not that I am a Taurus fanboy, because I am not, but I get sick and tired of hearing that they are junk. I just picked one up from my dad, the old non-pro Millenium 9mm and shot it yesterday for an hour. This is probably rounds 500-600 out of this pistol and it has not once failed. Not one part of it. Ejected every shell, no misfires or jams. Fairly accurate as well.

    I have heard of problems with semi-autos from all brands, including HK, Kahr, Glock, Baretta, S&W and Taurus. I guess you will find some unlucky soul that gets a bad apple and then bash every thing they make. Its ridiculous.

  12. Gunner Says:

    I couldn’t agree more. There are many shooters out there that condemn any and all guns from a particular maker because they or someone they know who got one with a problem. Granted some companies have widespread QC issues but they normally cure these problems pretty fast.
    My Taurus pistols have never missed a beat and regardless of the lower price and they don’t have a high class name they are very good guns be they revolver or pistol.
    I appreciate your putting in your opinion!

    Phil

  13. johnk4jmk Says:

    I also purchased a 3rd gen pro about 2 months ago,the only problem i have had whatsoever is the first couple of times i field stripped it,guess everything was still a little stiff,and it is kinda funny how you have to work the triggeer at just the right spot.But this is my wifes ccw gun and she loves it.she was dead on with the heine sights from the start,which i was not it took me a box or 2 to get used to them.But the bottom line is this is a great gun and yes i own several other guns and had other taurus guns.It has never failed to fire, eject or feed at all i even tried to limp wrist it to get it to act up and could not.My other guns stay in the closet cause i carry my kel tec just like putting on my shoes.but i find myself kinda wanting to carry the taurus pro.agian dont listen to all the crap about taurus,oh yea people say taurus has bad customer relations,believe it or not they called me and asked if i liked the gun,yea it blew my mind to.just my 3 cents

  14. RBK Says:

    HAVE TO AGREE WITH SOME OF YOU ALL…RIGHT OUT OF THE BOX, ACCURATE, DEPENDABLE, APPROX 300 ROUNDS WITHOUT A MISHAP…GREAT GUN! ONLY SLIGHT COMPLAINT IS A LITTLE TOO MUCH TRIGGER TRAVEL…GREAT GUN!

  15. MR B Says:

    Well I have own several Taurus for the most part they are good guns but I have had several issues with them. I just purchased a Mill Pro 9mm and took it out to the range and had two issues with it. One was light hits on the primer and the other issue was that it shot very low and way off target. I did the testing on a bench rest and used 4 different types of ammo from Fed, Win, Speer, and Rem. All had light hits on the primer every 3 or 4 shot. There was no good group at 25 yards if was able to hit the target. I brought the target to 15 yards and I hit the target but lousy groups about average 6 inch. I then wanted to try self defense shooting and I shot from the hip and I was hitting the floor at about 15 yards. I looked at the barrel and noticed it was canted down on the frame. I sent the gun back to Taurus to see if they could help me. I like the gun and when I sent my other guns back to Taurus they did a good job servicing it and resolved the problem. Yes I do know it is not a match gun or bull’s eye gun, and it has a 3 inch barrel but it should operate a little better than that. When I get my gun back I will test it and make a final decision on whether to keep it or not. I hope they fix it because this is going to be my CCW Gun. I don’t want to buy the other outrageous priced guns like Springfield, Glock, HK, Smith and Wesson. I own PT92 blued and stainless, PT940, and once again Taurus makes good guns at a fair price.

  16. MR. B Says:

    Well today is 8-28-09 and I just received my Pt 111 millineum pro back from when I sent it on July 17 2009. They adjusted the front sight, replaced the firing pin, and replaced the rear sight. I have yet to fire it but I can tell you the trigger feels great. There is a little bit of travel but it does break clean. When I called Taurus to follow up on my service request they were very helpful and told me when they were going to service my firearm. Grant it that it took well over a month to service it, but they did a good job fixing it. Then again it is kinda of scary that they have so many guns to reservice. If they built the gun the right way off the line they would not have so many returned for warranty work. Well for the most part I am very happy with the gun and Taurus International.

  17. Mr. B Says:

    Well now I am really questioning the quality of the Pt 111 mill pro. I just sent it back for the second time to fix the firing pin. Once again I was getting lite primer hits without the round firing. My opinion don’t go for the Mill Pro and think twice with the quality of the new Taurus Slim compact pistols.

  18. Gunner Says:

    Mr, B,

    I looked into the Wolf gusprings website for an extra power firing pin spring but didn’t see one listed. I would give them a call and see if one of the other models springs would work on yours. Sometimes a little extra spring power will do the trick. One question are you using PMC ammo? They have very hard primers.
    I hope they get it squared away this time. If not please contact me at this email and I’ll be more than happy to try to get the problem solved for you.

    Best,
    Phil

  19. xqqme Says:

    I fire only decent quality ammo in any of my firearms: maybe that’s part of the reason I have nad nothing but excellent results from my 9mm Millenium Pro… never a jam… never a misfire… never a problem.

    I bought the 9mm after owning and using a Taurus 627 in .357 magnum with 4 inch barrel. The semi-auto is a bit easier to conceal, and well worth the trade-off: 13 rounds vs 7. Both handguns have performed withoug a hitch. What I’m wearing and how I need to conceal dictates which I carry.

  20. Gunner Says:

    Like you I have never had problem one with mine and enjoy carrying it very much. Reliable and very concealable.
    Thanks for your feedback
    Phil

  21. Mr. B Says:

    Well I got my gun back yesterday and I took it out to the range today and I fired about 20 115 Winchester wht box and I did not have any soft primer hits. I am going to buy some different self defense loads and do my final test on this gun. I hope I don’t have any failures. Gunner thanks for info on the wolf spring and on that PMC has hard primers. It took a little over a month on the second time to get the gun back from Taurus. Customer service was friendly when I called once a week to find out where my gun was in the process of the service work. Wish me luck.

  22. Hoang Says:

    Where could we buy this Taurus Millennium Pro for under $300?
    Thank you very much.

  23. Gunner Says:

    For under $300 these days with the current increase in prices it would have to be a used pistol. Most of these require checking local gunshops until one is found. New ones now are closer to $400. A website to check is http://www.gunbroker.com

    Good luck
    Phil

  24. Mr. B Says:

    Good news and I am happy. I took my pt111 pro and shot 50 rounds of Winchester 147gr personal defense at 15 yards and I had a consistent 1.5 inch group. Not one failure on feeding or firing. I will try to find some more affordable personal defense ammo to find out which works and groups best in my gun. Gunner you are absolutely right it is really hard to find a new gun under $400. Unless you are quite familiar with firearms or you know from whom you are buying it from I would be very hesitant on buying a used gun. One just does not know what conditions the gun was under.

  25. Gunner Says:

    That’s great and I am really glad to here it! 1.5 inch groups means the gun is doing well but it also means the shooter is doing well also!

    Happy Shooting:-)
    Phil

  26. Gary Bahosh Says:

    I recently purchased the Taurus 709 slim. I have fired 200 rounds without a single misfire. The single stack 7 plus 1 mag keeps the weight at 16oz and the pistol is very accurate.

  27. Ray Says:

    I purchased a Smith new Sigma, Glock 19 and Taurus Milineum Pro 9mm last week.
    Took them all to the range today.
    Out of the box ALL shot limp wristed to practice off balance self defense point and shoot.
    ALL sot true and hit the target where main body mass would be@15 yrds.
    I’ve heard horror stories about the motorcycles I ride, the tools I buy. The computer I use. Frankly it is silly.
    Please don’t demonize a product simply because you have a problem or two.
    This Taurus is very comfortable, shoots great and true in emergency mode. Conceals great, has good build quality.
    Why would a firearm company offer a lifetime warranty if they only built crap. I would recommend it in a heart beat.
    Had a Kel Tec .380 that was a great weapon with some very nasty review, mine was fine……go figure

  28. Gunner Says:

    Ray,

    How very true you just can’t believe what you read in the forums which is one reason I started this blog. I wanted to give first hand experience and tell it like it is.
    Glad you like your new ones!!!

    Happy Shooting,
    Phil

  29. Ray Says:

    Phil,
    To me Taurus is and has been a major player in the handgun industry.
    When you tear these down, side by side with S&W and the like you find the quality is there.
    I now carry my M.Pro 9mm everywhere. the Smith and Glock will come in cooler weather but the capacity and quick grip feel is very reassuring.
    Now start a blog on FMJ for self defense……wow that will bring out the dogs a barkin.

    Shooting happy
    Ray

  30. Gunner Says:

    Ray,

    I couldn’t agree more. Taurus makes fine guns. They haven’t always but the level of quality now is just as good as any other major player. The 1911 they make is on a par if not better than many other big name pistols.
    Oh yea if I started an article about 45 ball for defense it would start a real flame war!

    Take care,
    Phil

  31. Zora Panama Says:

    I Will have to come back again when my course load lets up – nonetheless I am taking your RSS feed so I can read your site offline. Thanks.

  32. Gunner Says:

    Thanks very much and I hope you find the blog useful as well as enjoyable. Best of luck with your studies.

    Phil

  33. oliron Says:

    I love or loved mt PT145 pro.Last week i purchased a box of Magtech.First round chambered and fired perfectly (as normal).Second round chambered fine then the entire gun exploded in my hands.luckily I was not injured.I was talking with a gunsmith abut it and he said he thought the Taurus .45 barrels were thin-walled.Any comments on this?I sent the gun to Taurus,no word yet on if they will replace it.It is a shame I really did like it alot.

  34. Gunner Says:

    Wow that’s scary! I’ve heard of that once before. I do have a 24/7 OS in 45 and the barrel on it is thicker than a 1911 and handles 45 well but then it’s a full size pistol.
    I sure hate that happened to you but in spite of Taurus’s reputation for slow service they will send you a new one I’m sure. They have a lifetime warranty.
    Now I’m not saying it’s the ammo but it might be a good idea to contact Magtech and send that box of ammo in for testing so you’ll know for sure it was the pistol. It only takes one worn piece of equipment to drop a double charge. It’s worth checking just for your own piece of mind.
    If they say the ammo is good when I got the new gun back I’d trade it for the 24/7 OSS.

    Phil

  35. oliron Says:

    I was actually looking for the 24/7 when I purchased the PT-145.They were out.Having said that the PT is a nice shooting pistol and I like it alot.Despite the failure I don’t blame Taurus its a machine.They e-mailed me saying they needed more info.(what more I have no idea).Guess i’ll find out Monday.Have you had any problems with your 24/7?

  36. oliron Says:

    We fired all the rest of the ammo in that box out of a Springfield XDM.No problems at all.That is a nice pistol.

  37. Gunner Says:

    I’m not sure what info they would need except to make sure you didn’t shoot reloads. They are picky about shooting factory ammo. Of course your ok there.
    I’ve never had a problem at all with any of the three Taurus products I have. The 24/7 OSS is really nice with no malfunctions. I really like the features of being able to carry cocked and locked or double action first round. Recoil is surprisingly mild as well.

    Phil

  38. tootsie Says:

    My Taurus PT 111 Millenium Pro was purchased brand new yesterday (I watched the clerk break the factory seal on the box) and I just love the size & feel of it.
    However, today I walked it out into the woods, set up my portable target, filled the magazine with 10 rounds of Magtech 115gr FMJ, and started shooting (slowly) from 7 yards away.
    Had one stovepipe and a FTF jam in the first magazine.
    Switched to Federal 115gr FMJ and got two more FTF jams.
    Next was Russian (Wolf?) 124gr aluminum and had three jams.
    Finally I shot 124gr HP Magtech’s and had two jams.
    I’m not giving up just yet, but am going on record stating this attractive little weapon just might be a lemon…right out of the box.
    I’ll try again…and maybe once more but three strikes & Taurus is out!
    I’m not risking my life carrying around a weapon I can’t depend on.
    If my Taurus doesn’t work out I’m thinking seriously about getting a S&W revolver for primary carry. At least I know it will go bang when I pull the trigger.

  39. Paul Says:

    I have had my Taurus Mill Pro for over a year now. Out of the box is messed up/jammed several times. I took it home. Cleaned it real good. Went back out a week later and it jammed twice more. I took it home. Cleaned it real good again. Has NEVER misfired since… and that is after MANY boxes of ammo. I love the gun and feel very comfortable with it.

    I also just got another SP101-3inch. Dang nice cannon!

    Paul

  40. Gunner Says:

    Nice to hear it’s clicking right along:-)

  41. tootsie Says:

    After my last post I thoroughly cleaned all the factory grease & yukk from inside the gun, then back to the range & 3 full magazine’s later shooting Federal & Magtech 115gr fmj & WWB 147 hp every round fed smoothly and ejected properly.
    Now I have to learn to master those Heine sights as at this point I couldn’t hit the broad side of a barn door.

  42. Russell Horn Says:

    I recently purchased a Taurus Millenium Pro in 9mm from Academy Sports here in Fort Worth Tx. for 329.00 plus tax brand new. I haven’t taken it to the range yet, but gave it a thorough cleaning to get all the grease off from the factory. the only thing I changed is to put a rubber sleeve type grip on the gun, as the grips felt a little small for me. But I had to do the same thing with my Glock 17.

  43. RANDRAND Says:

    The servicing of the guns with a lifetime warranty-is logically practical. With outsourced machined parts mass produced, there may be imperfections-or outright specs that were not adhered to in sub-contracted production—replacements are needed.IT DOES NOT OCCUR OFTEN-BUT DOES OCCUR TO ALL COMPANIES, I’VE NOTED! The pistols have gone to plastics and polymer composites, and on items like the barrel guides that are now non-metallic-friction and aging will come into play-as well as heat warping,at times—–don’t expect superman use on lighter material parts after umpteen thousand rounds-replace those worn parts! Clean those weapons-no excuse for a sloppy habit! The guns are usually sound-or easily fixed!

  44. RANDRAND Says:

    THE STOVE-PIPING IS A FAILURE OF AMMUNITION CONTINUITY-THE FAILURE TO FEED—90% of the time is the magazine feed spring-replace it with a good quality spring and reevaluate.

  45. RANDRAND Says:

    for instance, with sights-like THE JUDGE REVOLVER-try letting the dot ball sit on top of the sight square groove-more accurate picture. The JUDGE is a lightweight bush snake gun-plugs rattlesnakes-but dubious on big Pythons in the glades!The 45 caliber long colt ammo is a gamblers vest coat armament-it is fairly accurate at 150 feet-with practice. This is not a marksman’s dream gun-but a fun plinker!

  46. Gunner Says:

    Thanks for your comments:-)

    Phil

  47. RANDRAND Says:

    OLLRON-SELDOM A FRACTURED BARREL ON ITS OWN-UNLESS BADLY BORED! 45 DOES NOT PUSH THE PRESSURES LIKE MAGNUMS—I SUSPECT THE PREVIOUS ROUND SLUG PARTIALLY BLEW OUT,AND LEFT A WEDGED RING THAT CAUGHT THE NEXT FED ROUND THROUGH. EVEN SO-BARREL BLOW OUTS ARE RARE, AND THE COMPANY WILL ALWAYS WANT TO EVALUATE A FAILURE LIKE THAT AND THE AMMO YOU USED-FOR SAFETY RECORDS. YOU’LL GET A NEW GUN-NO DOUBT!

  48. RANDRAND Says:

    Let me weigh in on gunner’s 45 ball rounds-They are clean-hit hard enough-and are logical mate-up use when you carry an UMP 45 CAL SBR WITH TUNDRA SILENCER-THE GEMTEC SILENCER RECOMMENDS THE CASED BALL ROUND BECAUSE THE SILENCER IS A DRY-FIRED CAN. THE BALL CASED ROUND EJECTS NO LEAD GLAZING UNDER HEAT/PRESSURE, AND THE CARBON DEPOSITS DON’T PLUG UP THE VENTRICLES OF THE SILENCER TO MUCH. IN ANTI-TERRORIST CLOSE-QUARTER WORK, YA DON’T WANT PENETRATION-YOU WANT IT TO FLATTEN OR A COPPER ROUND THAT POWDERS. THE PISTOL CAN BE THE SAME TACTICAL USE WITH THIS ROUND.

  49. Stan Says:

    I have personally carried my Millenium PT 140 for over 2 years, i only buy walmart federal ammo and have had Zero malfunctions with over 1100 rounds fired. Love this pistol!

  50. Gunner Says:

    Stan that’s great to hear!

  51. Holly Says:

    My Millenium Pro 111 also shoots low. REALLY low! I guess I will send it back for some adjustments. Other than that, I havent had any problems with it.

  52. Gunner Says:

    Hello Holly,

    I do have one piece of advice and that’s have someone like Novak replace the front sight. I know you’ll have to pay for that but sending it in to Taurus will take from 2-3 months to get back. That’s the only gripe In have with them.
    If you send it to Novak Sights than can replace the sight in one week and return it to you. There’s two ways to do it. Send the entire gun through your FFL which will cost $35 or so. The other option is shoot a target and write point of aim then circle point of impact. Enclose the target and mail only the slide which you can do through the post office insured for very little.

    Take care,
    Phil

  53. JLTactical Says:

    I almost made a huge mistake. I almost traded my taurus millenium pt140 in before it got a true test. I took it to the range with my girlfriend, and we both shot it. we were using blazer fmj 180gr rounds. it was a mess. we could barely hit the target at 5 yards, and the recoil was astronomical. I WAS going to trade it in for a ruger p95, until the other night when i actually had to loose a round in self-defense out in the woods. it drew smooth as ever, and I braced for the recoil, but when it went off, my arm barely moved. i was downright shocked. I realized, that for personal defense, i carry 155gr. starfire hp. this pistol really isnt designed for heavy rounds. i had the same problem with the primer skipping as well, which scared the crap outta me. im gonna go to the range with it soon, and a fat box of 155gr and see how the primer looks. if it stills skips, all im really worried about is damaging the firing pin. ill report back on how it goes. oh and that one shot? dead on hit at ten yards. damage looked like a .357, it was a mess. oh and it was a possum.

  54. Gunner Says:

    J,

    There is a big difference in recoil between the 180 and 155 grain. The 155 actually works better since it has more speed and more foot pounds of energy in most loads. It’s kinda like the 9mm in a 147 grain and a 124 grain. The 147 or 180 in this case in to heavy for the round.
    I’m glad to found the 155 to your liking:-) Good shootin by the way!

    Phil


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 208 other followers

