Kimber Aegis II Review

May 28, 2011

I wrote a review on the Kimber Aegis II for The Firearm Blog. This is a 9mm made for those with smaller hands.I hope you enjoy it!
Here’s the LINK

Rafter “L” Gunleather

4 Responses to “Kimber Aegis II Review”

  1. franz Says:

    I have never shot a Rock Island 1911, I have a Kimber Pro Carry II. Right out the box the Kimber shot flawlessly. No malfunctions of any kind. VERY accurate match barrel and bushing.

    From my experience most guns out shoot the shooter and if you’re shooting for your own protection or others, the more accurate the better since under stress your shooting will probably go down the tubes.

    I think either gun is a great choice. Either will take out the crimnal anyway.

    By the way 9mm rounds and 45 rounds are both great choices for self defense. I have noticed a lot of 380 acp guns on the market as well. Shot placement matters most.

    This is a great site Phil!

  2. Gunner Says:

    Thanks Franz!

  3. TheDaywalkersDad Says:

    What a geat review. I’ve been considering a second 9mm M1911 and have been thinking about an STI (1st choice) or Rock Island. I already have a Kimber Stainless Target II in 9mm that has been absolutely flawless in operation but $1100 for a 2nd one is a bit expensive for me.
    I really liked the review of the Rock Island and am considering it as it’s a few hundred cheaper than the STI and would just be a sleel plate gun for one of my kids.
    Keep up the good work.
    Anyting new to add about the RIA over the last year?

  4. Gunner Says:

    Thanks very much I’m very glad you enjoyed it! As far as what’s new I’ve since converted the 9MM Rock Island into a 9MM and 38 Super pistol. I purchased a 38 super barrel and some mags fit the barrel etc. so now I can shoot both calibers in the “Rock”. It’s really a great way to get a second gun without the big expense. It’s also been very reliable in both calibers.
    I don’t know if you are aware of it or not but the STI Trojan is a Rock Island with some STI components added. The choice between the two pistols is really a matter of choice in whether you want to spend the extra money for the added components that STI puts on their version of the Rock Island. The fitting of these parts is closer to a match grade with the quality of the basic Rock Island.Since it will be a steel plate pistol for one of the kids I might start with the basic Rock Island and if that doesn’t work for him or you then you can always get an STI down the road and possibly have a gunsmith fit a 38 Super barrel to the Rock Island. Just some ideas for you to consider.
    Now one thing that is new since last year is the 2011 Rock Tactical which has an extended frame shroud so you can fit a light on it or leave it as is. This one comes in a single stack or a double stack 9MM. A double stack for steel is an appealing idea to me. Here is a link for you to the Rock Island website which shows all models available. http://armscorusa.com/
    Enjoy!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 209 other followers

