American Classic Commander

March 25, 2011

I just finished a review on the American Classic Commander from Metro Arms. It’s some 1911.
The link will take you to the review. One of the employees at GFS changed the link to his website. When I move this review to “The Firearm Blog” I’ll post the new link. Thanks!

You can also comment there———

12 Responses to “American Classic Commander”

  1. Winfred Dotson Says:

    If this has a Series 70 System it looks like it is going to be a winner. Only time will tell.

  2. Gunner Says:

    It does indeed have a series 70 system which is great news. All of the guns from the Philippines are series 70 1911’s.

  3. shooter92 Says:

    Pretty nice well built gun for the price tag on it. Nice fit and finish. The gun sits tight and doesn’t have any movement in the frame. Only bad thing I can see is the magazine it comes with….it has a real hard time chambering #8 but that can be easily taken care of with a different mag and getting the feed ramp polished. Other than that I love it. Haven’t got to shoot it yet though..can’t wait to get it to the range!

  4. Gunner Says:

    I didn’t have that problem but then I use Wilson 47D mags. Your going to like this one. Very very accurate. Just one heck of a buy!
    Phil

  5. shooter92 Says:

    Yea I need to order one or two. That and some differnt grips for them. They feel nice I just prefer a differnt color and checkering. Im reading that it takes most Colt 1911 parts so thats good. Guy who sold it to me said he shot his friends ACC 1911 and he was getting 2 inch grops at 25 feet so I’ll have to see if he’s correct about that!

  6. Gunner Says:

    Craig Sword at Mil-Tac.com makes some great G10 grips.I have them on mine.
    http://store.mil-tac.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWCATS&Category=91

  7. Ben Hochstatter Says:

    Enjoyed the articles. Found your site by the Combat Commander build you produced. Very nice. I bought a stainless Combat commander about 18 years ago with the intent of having it customized for accuracy. It had been “customized” previously but the work was very old school. Slide was tapped and drilled for a weaver scope mount, the rear sight appears to be machined for a S&W adjustable revolver sight, and I found that occasionaly the hammer will hang when the gun is readied for the first shot by manually cocking the hammer with your thumb. It a beautiful handgun except for those drill holes in the SS slide. What range of cost would be required to fill the holes (or replace the slide) and accuraize this old girl? I’m retired, vietnam vet 1968 (1st Aviation Bgde-210th CAB), Iowa resident, and don’t get to shoot as often an I would like.
    I definitely added you to my ‘favorites’! Love you comments about Utah making the 1911 their State Handgun. Lived in Utah for about 11 year … taught my wife to shoot at a range on the watsach foothills, and shot ‘silouette’ metallic handgun competition with my friends in Utah.
    Keep up the good work.

  8. Gunner Says:

    Ben,

    I’m glad you enjoyed the articles. Helping fellow shooters is why I started this blog in the first place.
    I sure do remember the old school work your talking about. There were several gunsmiths doing the same work you describe. Sometime in the mid 70’s that was a popular thing to do. That is cutting slides and installing K frame S&W revolver sights.
    There is one person who could make pins to fill those holes but it would take forever since he’s so busy and it would be pretty high priced. In fact a new slide would be cheaper.
    Bill Laughridge at Cylinder and Slide would be my choice for a new slide and any work you would want to have done. Wait time would be pretty long but anyone worth sending your frame to takes a while. http://www.cylinder-slide.com/ These are the guys who did my Colt Commander and that things runs like a Swiss watch.
    Sounds like we’re about the same age so we tend to be picky about any work on our guns:-) Write anytime you need any info.

    Happy Shooting,
    Phil

  9. Hiram Ilarraza Says:

    Just bought and shot my American Classic Commander, by Metro Arms. It out shot both my Springfield and Series 70 Colt. I am impressedmby the fit and finish. Outstanding pistol.
    the price wasn’t bad, either

  10. Gunner Says:

    Congratulations! It’s one fine 1911!

  11. Hiram Ilarraza Says:

    Just bought a Bubba’ed Colt 1917, the barell was cut to 3 inches and it was completely reblued. Whoever did it even cut off the threads on the end of the ejector rod.
    The gun is tight, and the trigger pull is up to the old Colt standards. I know the it has lost it’s collector’s value, even if I bring it back to original specs by replacing the barell and the ejector rod. My question is: Where can I get the parts, other than Numrich?
    Thank you in advance.

  12. Gunner Says:

    Hiram,

    Sorry it took me awhile to get back to you. Well sir the solution won’t be very cheap. The only thing you can do is try to find a 1917 that’s a bit rough and have the barrel refinished and installed by a gunsmith. The other alternative is have the S&W custom shop install a new production barrel. If I really wanted it done top notch I would go the S&W route.
    I’ve never seen a barrel for sale by itself.

    Good luck!
    Phil


Leave a Reply

