Gunner’s Journal

The 1911 Worlds Finest Handgun!

Archive for April 11th, 2007

Kimber Custom II

Posted by Gunner on April 11, 2007

This is my basic model Kimber custom II. The basic Kimber has all the needed accessories anyone should need in a working self defense gun. Even being a basic model it has a match barrel, trigger, beavertail grip safety and a lowered and flared ejection port. The trigger on all the Kimbers I’ve owned or fired have been very consistant and normally break at approximately 4 pounds. The only problem I can see is after 100 or so presentations from a standard holster I started noticing wear on the finish. The areas showing wear were around the front of the barrel, the thumb safety and front of the trigger guard. To be fair you expect to see some wear at the muzzle after awhile but I have never had a 1911 show this much wear this soon. Oh well maybe it gives it a well used rustic look:-) Seriously though I may use my recent experience with refinishing my RIA Tactical with DuraCoat and do the same with the Kimber. DuraCoat is one tough finish!
Couple this 1911 with a Milt Sparks Heritage IWB holster and you have a fine combination for daily carry.

Posted in Kimber 1911 | 3 Comments »